KUALA LUMPUR: The Comprehensive Regional Economic Partnership Agreement (RCEP) was finally signed today after 31 rounds of negotiations over the past eight years. Malaysia has already signed and implemented seven bilateral free trade agreements with Japan, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, Chile, Australia and Turkey. At the ASEAN level, Malaysia has 6 regional free trade agreements with ASEAN (AFTA), China, Korea, Japan, Australia, New Zealand and India. International investment agreements (AI) are divided into two types: (1) bilateral investment agreements and (2) investment contracts. A bilateral investment agreement (ILO) is an agreement between two countries to promote and protect investments made by investors from the countries concerned in the territory of the other country. The vast majority of IDu are bits. The category of contracts with investment rules (TIPs) includes different types of investment contracts that are not BITs. There are three main types of TIPs: 1) global economic contracts that contain commitments that are often included in ILOs (. B, for example, a free trade agreement with an investment chapter); 2.

contracts with limited investment provisions (for example. B, investment creation or free transfer of investment-related funds; and 3) contracts that contain only “framework clauses,” such as. B on investment cooperation and/or a mandate for future investment negotiations. In addition to IDAMIT, there is also an open category of investment-related instruments (IRIs). It includes various binding and non-binding instruments, such as model agreements and draft instruments, multilateral conventions on dispute settlement and arbitration rules, documents adopted by international organisations and others. Negotiations with Malaysia for a comprehensive free trade agreement began in early 2005. The early harvest was successfully negotiated and signed in December 2005, during Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz`s visit to Malaysia, during which the two countries gave access to a limited number of products. Following the implementation of the Early Harvest, the Pakistan negotiating team, led by the Ministry of Commerce and all stakeholder ministries, continued negotiations for the agreement. Under the Malaysian agreement signed between Great Britain and the Federation of Malaya, Britain would adopt an act to abandon sovereign control of Singapore, Sarawak and North Borneo (now Sabah).

This objective was achieved by the passage of the Malaysia Act of 1963, Article 1 (1) stipulates that, on the day of Malaysia, “Her Majesty`s sovereignty and jurisdiction over the new States must be abandoned in order to exist in the agreed manner.” [10] Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for the Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) signed on March 8, 2018 IIA Navigator This IIA database – the IIA Navigator – is managed by UNCTAD Section IITa.